## CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT\*

## CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	56	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	100
Part II.—Machinery of Government	60	SECTION 1. FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION	100
Section 1. The Federal Government Subsection 1. The Executive Subsection 2. The Legislature Subsection 3. The Judiciary	60 60 66 77	SECTION 2. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COM- MISSIONS, ETC	104 114
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL		DEPARTMENTS	123
GOVERNMENTS  Subsection 1. Newfoundland  Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island	80 81 81	Part IV.—Federal Government Employment	128
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia Subsection 4. New Brunswick	82 83	Part V.—Canada's External Relations	142
Subsection 5. Quebec	84 86	SECTION 1. DIPLOMATIC REPRESENTATION AS AT APR. 30, 1964	143
Subsection 7. Manitoba Subsection 8. Saskatchewan Subsection 9. Alberta	87 88 89	Section 2. International Activities, 1963-64	148
Subsection 10. British Columbia Subsection 11. Yukon Territory and	90	wealth Relations	148
Northwest Territories	92	Subsection 2. Canada and the United Nations	149
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT	93	Subsection 3. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization	154
Section 4. Federal and Provincial Royal Commissions	98	Subsection 4. Canadian External Aid Programs	155

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found on p. viii of this volume.

## PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state, which today comprises ten provinces and two vast northern territories, had its beginning ninety-seven years ago in the enactment (Mar. 29, 1867) by the British Parliament of the British North America Act, 1867. Fashioned largely out of the Seventy-two Resolutions drafted at Quebec (1864) by the Fathers of Confederation, the British North America Act, 1867 provided for the federal union of the three British North American provinces (Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) in one Dominion under the name of "Canada".

While the new nation that came into being on July 1, 1867 was a federation comprised of four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, Sect. 146 of the Act provided for the admission into the Union of the Crown colonies of Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland on the Atlantic and the united (1866) island and mainland colony of British Columbia on the Pacific, and also of the vast expanse of Hudson's Bay Company territory in the North West known as "Rupert's Land and the North-Western

<sup>\*</sup> Except where otherwise indicated, the information in this Chapter has been brought up to the date of Apr. 30, 1964. Certain changes occurring between that date and the date of going to press will be found in an Appendix to this volume. Also, official appointments made up to the date of going to press will be found in Chapter XXVIII (see Index).